The story of Resurrection Cemetery begins in 1845. The Catholic Community of Madison established a cemetery on a piece of land once known as Dead Lake Ridge (now the site of St. Mary's Hospital).
The cemetery was called Greenbush, and for about 18 years, it was the final resting place for Madison's Catholic faithful.
By 1863, it was clear that Greenbush was not big enough for the growing Catholic population of Madison. The decision was made to purchase over 18 acres of land in an area next to the new Protestant cemetery, Forest Hill. The new cemetery was called, Calvary.
While Calvary grew, efforts were made to restore Greenbush Cemetery (when Calvary opened in 1865, families began removing their departed loved ones from Greenbush, so they could be buried with newly buried family members in Calvary), but by 1908, saving Greenbush had become a lost cause, and the remaining bodies were removed, and placed in Calvary.
Moving the bodies was not to be an easy task. A number of these remaining bodies still buried in Greenbush, had deteriorated so badly (along with their coffins), that identifying them, was impossible. For this reason, a mass grave was dug at Calvary, and the last remaining bodies were laid to rest, there.
When space in Calvary began to fill up, more property was purchased to the south and west of the cemetery. This area was called Holy Cross Cemetery.
For about 30 years, the two cemeteries were independent of each other until 1953. In that year the two cemeteries were merged and renamed Resurrection Cemetery, which it remains to this day.